Have you ever been really excited about something that you just couldn’t tell everybody?  Earlier this summer, I was told by the publisher that the book would go “live” early in the week.  I went on line to check and it wasn’t there.  I was busy and let two days go by without even thinking about it again.  Then came that Wednesday morning.  During my quiet time God prompted me to check again.  And there it was.  Months of frustration when the words wouldn’t come and yearning to know the next step and whether I was doing the right thing, and there it was on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.com.  It was so exciting and such an “Ebenezer” moment…and I had to get ready to go to work.  Celebration that morning was short lived.

I’ve found that doing something like writing a book, while it is a huge accomplishment, is truly a labor of love.  God gave me every word during quiet morning hours while the rest of my house was asleep.  I “published” it, but, in every sense of the word, God gave it to me.  So that made me hesitant to talk about it.  I didn’t want people to think I was bragging, but seeing it on line for the first time was so exciting!

Meanwhile, at work, the tedium and endless interruptions of a preschool office took over my morning.  In the midst of paper work and answering the phone, the Fire Inspector came to do the annual inspection.  I signed all the proper paper work, and he began talking.  I learned he was a Christian and attends a Baptist church here in the Richmond area.  I could tell that he was defined by his relationship with God, and I needed to tell somebody about my joy and Christians are supposed to be kind….so I told him that I’d written a book and that it had gone “live” that morning.  He asked me all about it and wrote down the title, promising to look it up when he got home.  We finished the business of the day and then he said, “May I ask you a favor?”  I said, “Sure.”  He said, “Would you allow a fireman to pray for you and this book and all the people who will read it?”

And in that moment, I saw God’s hand.  God knew I wanted someone to celebrate with, and he sent a fireman to do it. How awesome, how thorough is my God.  He not only equipped me with every word I needed to accomplish what he called me to do, he blessed and affirmed me through the tender prayer of a faithful fireman. 

When Mary and Joseph couldn’t contain their joy and the birth of Jesus, God sent them shepherds to join the celebration.  When Peter was so full of the Spirit at Pentecost he just had to preach, God sent him thousands.  God is into celebration, and he helps us do it well.  I am awed by God’s ability to not only equip me to be obedient, but to celebrate with me.  It is my prayer that my obedience will give him reason to delight over me more often.

 

Zeph 3:17  …He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.

 

               

