How do we choose favorites?  Do we choose sports teams based on where we attended school?  Proximity to the professional games?  Association with a particular personality on the team?  How do we choose a favorite color or kind of car?  Why is chocolate my favorite dessert flavor, not vanilla?  Is it all about appeal or is there an underlying connection to an event or relationship? Certain songs remind me of certain people or periods of my life.  Certain foods remind me of the people who “specialized” in them.   Why am I so connected with certain books or stories, and so ambivalent toward others?  My favorite vacation is in the mountains.  I love the beach, but my soul finds more rest and peace in the mountains than any other place.

My favorite Psalm begins with  “Oh God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you”.  (Ps 63:1)  Sometimes this verse soothes me because I have learned that I am most myself when I am connected to God.  Sometimes I love this verse because it reminds me that I am not God when I realize that the final result is not up to me.  Sometimes I love this verse because it reminds me that God is always God….I just need to intentionally look for him in the midst of all the clutter of my life.

I love my two sons with all my heart, not because they are the smartest or handsomest, certainly not because they are the tidiest or always cheerfully chip in with household chores!  I love them because they are mine.  I gave birth to them, and fought battles for them and with them, celebrated their successes, and wept over their disappointments.  I have kissed them, punished them, held their hands, doctored their wounds, watched them when they weren’t looking, cared for them when they were sick, tried to please them, prayed countless hours for their protection and judgment, and given them the freedom to become all that God created them to be.  There are some wonderful children in my life that bring me great joy, but it’s different with my boys.  They are my favorites.  They bring me greater joy and deeper pain than anyone else on this planet.  They belong to me in a way that no one else ever will.  They are mine.

God says the same thing about you.  Is 43:1 “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.”  I recently attended a Women of Faith conference in DC where Judah Smith challenged us to live with the full knowledge that we are each, individually, God’s favorite.  I wonder what our behavior and perspective would be if we consciously lived each day with the understanding that we are special to God.   He doesn’t choose us because we are worthy; he chooses us, day after day, because we belong to him.  He has promised that we are now part of his family.  We are each his favorite. 

