Thanksgiving

As I prepare my home and my kitchen for Thanksgiving, I am reminded that what I am doing should be a reflection of what I feel. All of my preparation is only ritual unless my heart remembers all that I’m thankful for….that’s what tomorrow is about. God commands it all through the Bible. Those who love him reflect and display gratitude in their daily lives. They give thanks for food and for people. They are grateful for deliverance and for victory. Sometimes thanksgiving is just a natural response; sometimes it must be an intentional choice. Even in adversity, the children of God are reminded to be grateful to the God who has overcome the world and who never leaves them. Paul reminds us in Eph 5:20 to “Give thanks in all things.”
I am abundantly blessed with family and friends who love me. I decided to make a list of just 10 things, other than the people I love, to thank God for today.
1. a warm, dry home where I am safe
2. the ability to provide a meal to share with my family
3. the unconditional love of a patient God who has never given up on me, especially when I deserved it
4. a church where I can worship and serve God’s people and be loved
5. coffee in the morning
6. work for both my husband and me
7. the friendship of the children in my neighborhood
8. the bluebirds that show up for my morning quiet time
9. good health, mine and those that I love
10. the freedom to own and study the Bible and worship publically

Sometimes the testimony of others helps us recognize what we might take for granted in our lives. I would love for you to post your list of 10 my blog. I wonder how differently our days would look if our lives and attitudes were consistently characterized by gratitude, regardless of our circumstances.
In her book, Jesus Calling, Sarah Young summarizes Jesus’ words by saying, “This is the day that I have made! As you rejoice in this day of life, it will yield up to you precious gifts and beneficial training. Walk with me along the high road on thanksgiving, and you will find all the delights I have made ready for you.”
May this day lead us to remember and rejoice; may it lead us to delight in his blessing and his presence. May our celebration of Thanksgiving be so much more than just an obligatory meal; may it begin in the sacred recesses of our hearts and overflow into the lives of all we meet.

