New Day

The Bible gives us the assurance that God’s compassion is new every morning. Isn’t it interesting that it is compassion that is new every morning. Not joy, not peace, not a new calling or an updated to do list. I am deeply comforted by the fact that God begins each day, not by reminding me of my sin or stupid choices of yesterday, but with compassion for a new start for a new day. He knows my weakness and he loves me anyway.

I had a tough week. I was lied to by people I thought I could trust. I dealt with selfish people who were much more interested in being heard than in listening. People I tried to be nice to were dismissive, and I gave away my joy to people and situations that did not deserve it.

I am awed by a God who meets me in the quiet of each new morning. All the frustration and stuff and activity of yesterday is done. And just for a few moments, there is peace.

I don’t need to fill him in or catch him up on what he doesn’t know. He saw my pain and he saw my unloving responses to those who inflicted it. And he meets me in this new morning with compassion….for the struggle of this week, and the weakness of my response to it.

This is one of those days when what I most need is the reminder that I am loved by the one who knows me best and who died to save me anyway, and that today is the start of something new. I am amazed that a holy God chooses to show compassion with each new day. May I do the same.

Lam 3:22-26 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.

