“Don’t ever see those much anymore”, he said, pointing to the Christian fish symbol on the tailgate of my car. As he put my groceries into the back, he continued. “I hate to think that it was just a fad that went out of style, or that Christians are just too politically correct. Seems we’re a lot more interested in not offending anyone who disagrees with us than we are in being true to who we say we are.”

I hesitated to put that emblem on my car for years because my driving attitude is not always the best reflection of my Christian beliefs. But a wise friend gave me one for Christmas several years ago and told me, “Put it on there and then live up to what it stands for.” My driving attitude has improved because of it.

Today, just like in New Testament times, that symbol instantly created an understanding between two Christians. They drew theirs in the dirt out of fear of persecution; I put mine on the back of my car as a reminder to myself to remember who I belong to. I don’t think that we need to cram our version of God down the throats of all who might think differently, but I do believe that it is increasingly unpopular to identify yourself as a Christian. It is easier to just let the “noisiest” people have their say and way.

I am troubled by those in society that demand Christian tolerance for their views, but refuse that same tolerance for Christians. Jesus said, “Love one another.” He also said, “If I am lifted up I will draw all men unto me.” Jesus based his whole ministry on loving others, even when they didn’t understand him or disagreed with him. He fed them and healed them and taught them. But he never denied who he was. When we refuse to publically acknowledge that we are children of the Living God (whatever form that takes for you!) and that his presence and word trumps man’s wisdom, we enable evil to gain a dangerous foothold. When Christians just passively stand by and let the world demand from us what it will not give to us, we become part of the problem. We deny him with our silence just as surely as those who publically speak against him.

The more things change, the more things stay the same. The issues and conflicts of the Bible, even the symbols, are as relevant today as they were then.

