Roses and Frogs

There is something beautiful and elegant about roses. The softness, shape, color, and even the thorns set them apart from all other flowers in creation. We use them to express our love for others and as a gift for celebration. I’m blessed to be married to a man that brings them home for me on holidays and on ordinary days when my circumstances rob me of beauty and elegance. Roses don’t change the circumstances of my day, but they can remind me of the things that can restore my joy, despite my circumstances.

I have three precious children living next door to me. They bring me joy and laughter….and they bring me frogs. I find nothing beautiful or elegant about frogs. We have a creek that runs through our yards that is a gathering place for the children on our street, and the kids next door know that I have a pond in my backyard. They believe that the frogs in the creek would be happier living in my pond. The first time I opened my door to find their faces aglow with anticipation and they said, “Ms. Bev, we brought you something”, I had no idea what I was in for. Gratefully, I did not reach out to take the gift they had hidden between their muddy hands.

That was our first frog. Since that day, many have been added to the pond population. They range from as small as a quarter to as large as my fist. We’ve become so used to each other that they rarely even jump in the water when I sit next to the pond. Some summer nights their croaking is loud enough to be heard through closed windows. I don’t particularly love frogs, but I’ve come to love those kids next door. And because of those three precious children, frogs now bring me joy.

In my house both frogs and roses are gifts. Both indicate that someone has made an effort to bring me joy. Both do. One I’ve always admired. The other I had to learn to appreciate.

Sometimes God gives us gifts that are anticipated and welcomed. Sometimes his gifts require a change of perspective before we make peace with them and can call them “good”. It is the desire of his heart to give us gifts. May we never deny ourselves the pleasure of celebrating only the gifts that meet our preconceived notions. May this day bring you both “roses” and “frogs” that will give you joy and remind you that you are loved.

Matthew 7:11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him.

