Called to Know

“There is a significant difference between knowing ‘about’, knowing ‘that’, and ‘knowing’. I can know about anything that is listed in Wikipedia. Knowing ‘about’ doesn’t require any level of discernment; possessing a few facts will support any claim of knowing ‘about’.”

“Knowing that he is God implies more information and personal experience than just knowing about God. For example, knowing about my favorite football team is different from knowing that they will win the Super Bowl or who they will take in the next draft. Studying biblical history gives me information about God; my personal experience in relationship with him leads me to know ‘that’ he is the one true God. Even demons and unbelievers know about God. But the idea of ‘knowing’ as it is used by God in the Bible is far more complicated, time consuming, and intimate.”

The Bible is very clear. God knows us: the number of hairs on our head, a word before it is on our tongue, what is hidden in our hearts, our pain, our past and our future. But even though he knows us, warts and all, he chooses to see us as we can be, not just as we are. He addresses weak Gideon as “Mighty Warrior”, childless Abraham as the “Father of many nations” and indecisive Simon as “Peter, the rock”. The amazing thing to me is that he wants us to know him.

We will begin to know what we choose to follow. Time and focus give us insight and understanding. Those who chose to follow God in the Bible testified that they “knew” things. Job knew that God is holy and that his Redeemer lives (Job 6:10 and 19:25). Paul said “I know whom I have believed” (II Time 1:12). David recorded how God taught him to know. Ps 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God.

May you take his counsel and know the God who knows you.

Quoted excerpts above are taken from my book “He Wants You to Know”, available on barnesandnoble.com and amazon.com.

